There are quite a few things to check on Facebook to ensure your privacy settings are up to date. Facebook actually gives quite a bit of control to the user, however they can be hard to find. Here are some areas you should be reviewing.
Who are you sharing content with?
When you activate the status box, you’ll see a drop down to the left of the post button. This tells Facebook who they can share the post with.
- If it’s set to Public, everyone is going to see it.
- If it’s Friends, only your friends can see it, but not their friends.
- Only Me is considered private. No one else will be able to see it.
- Custom is my choice. In custom I can set it to be Friends of Friends so all my friends can see it, and if they like or comment on my status, their friends can also see it. In custom you can also share posts with specific friends or ensure certain people never see this status.
Under the presets you’ll see lists. Here you can choose to share your status with a specific list of people that you have setup. Read more